Web News Archives: August 1, 2014 through July 31, 2015...

posted on May 11, 2015, revised on June 6, 2015

Corey Kistner won a single game rolloff over Ben McCoy to capture the title in the third annual Beat-A-Board-Member Invitational Tournament on Saturday, May 9 at Pla-Mor Lanes.

Kistner and McCoy were tied for first place after three games with handicap totals of 784, prompting the playoff game, where Kistner's 237 outlasted McCoy's 203 (219 with handicap). Positions 3 through 5 were earned by Kevin Snyder (773), Gabe Howell (740) and Tom Adcock (700). A total of 18 bowlers participated in the event, which was staged after the Decatur USBC BA Annual Council of Delegates Meeting.

During the meeting, Jason Finley and Steve Burger were elected for the first time to serve the Decatur USBC BA Board. Due to an eligibility requirement, Burger was replaced on May 16 by the next-highest vote-getter, Darrell Bean, making Bean and Finley the newest DUSBCBA Directors. The Board expressed its thanks to Steve Burger for his handling of the situation and welcomes his ideas to improve Decatur Bowling.

For the final open office, Scott Bird was re-elected as Association Vice-President. The Board also thanks Joe Kelley for his seven years of service, including work on the city tournament and several other committees, as his term will end on July 31.

An informal survey was added to the ballot to gauge the attendees' thoughts about merging the local BA and WBA. Thirty-four out of the 42 attendees replied to the question, and 31 votes were cast in favor of a merger, with 3 against. This non-binding vote was presented to USBC Regional Manager George Lambert, who was in attendance at the meeting.

posted on May 11, 2015

The Decatur team of Doc Lewis and Jason Meeks posted a 1500 in the first squad and cruised to a victory in the second annual, two-day Moweaqua Doubles Challenge, held on April 11-12 at Moweaqua Bowl & Cafe.

Meeks was the team leader as he fired a scratch series of 785, while Lewis contributed a 607, adding up to 1392 scratch and 1500 with handicap. The Bloomington pairing of Laura and Andy Stone continued their excellence in Land of Lincoln events by placing second with a 1449.

Steve Burger and Shawn Reed shot 1419 in the final of five squads to reach the top of the scratch leader board, and that score also placed third on the handicap side. Kevin and Jason Howard finished 4th, while the pairing of Tim Frey and Sheila Queen-Kistner ended up in 5th.

Meeks' 785 converted to an 836 with handicap, which was the best singles score in that category. Unfortunately Meeks did not enter the individual scratch sidepot, and that was taken by Tom Adcock, with a 750.

A total of 48 teams participated in the annual weekend event, which also raised money for Bowlstrong through raffles, 50-50 drawings and donations.

posted on May 11, 2015

PBA Regional Champion Rick Kidd, of El Paso, IL, exacted a small amount of revenge by teaming with Bloomington native Emilie Young to win the 2015 Handicap Mixed Doubles Challenge on Sunday, March 8 at Pla-Mor Lanes.

Kidd and teammate Jason Jones were also entered in the Frank Vincent Doubles Shoot-Out the day before. But after qualifying as the top seed and surviving the first two bracket matchups, the Kidd-Jones duo was denied the Vincent crown by Decatur's Jason Queen and Tom Adcock.

A record total of 39 teams participated in the one-day event, which featured six games of qualifying, a four-team stepladder, and another Decatur dominance. The mother/son team of Jenet and Jason Meeks qualified in the third position, but they were upended in the stepladder by the husband and wife team of Laura and Andy Stone.

Another wedded couple, Valerie and Jon Alford, were even more impressive in their effort, qualifying 2nd and defeating the Stones in the semifinal match. In the final, the Kidd-Young team took advantage of all openings and rolled 402, to edge the Alfords and secure the $920 top prize.

Decatur's Gary Bean fired a 300 game in qualifying, while four more D-Town teams finished just below the stepladder. Tricia and Jason Queen were 5th, Ben and Jaclyn McCoy finished 6th, Ben Holman and Crystal Madrigal came in 7th, and the Doug Incarnato-Rhonda Brummitt team finished 8th.

posted on May 11, 2015

Tom Adcock and Jason Queen held off 50 other star-studded doubles teams to win the 2015 Frank Vincent Memorial Doubles Shoot-Out on Saturday, March 7 at Pla-Mor Lanes.

The 1997 ABC Masters Champion Queen, 41, and his longtime teammate and PBA50 champion Adcock, who would turn 53 later in March, defeated the El Paso team of Rick Kidd and Jason Jones in the championship match to earn the $900 top prize.

Other area teams that made the Round of 8 included Gary Bean and Steve Burger, Steve and Mike Miller, and James Box and Taylor Vocks, all of whom were eliminated in that round, to tie for 5th.

In the qualifying portion of the tournament, Gene Vincent, the son of Frank Vincent, rolled his 100th career 300 game. Ryan Scribner also added a perfect game, though neither team was able to advance out of qualifying.

The turnout of 51 doubles teams was a record for the event, and over $1000 was raised for the Bowlstrong Cancer Research charity from drawings, purchases and donations.

A best-ball shootout culminated the Saturday night activities. In the end, Decatur's Doc Lewis topped the field to win the $150 top prize, with Brett Fogerson as the runner-up.

posted on February 7, 2015

Longtime Decatur bowler Michael Abel rolled his first career 300 game on Decatur Bowling's biggest stage, creating the top headline in the 76th Annual Decatur USBC BA Open Championship, held January 7-18 at Pla-Mor Lanes.

Abel, 59, has been a loyal league participant since the late 1970s, but he had never achieved the ultimate 12-bagger until his second game of the Singles Event on January 10. Abel shot 718 scratch and eventually finished third (799) in Handicap Singles.

A trio of players earned a pair of city titles. Shawn Reed was a winner in Scratch Team (3548, with Darrell Bean, Tim Frey, Gabe Howell and Corey Kistner) and Scratch Doubles (1468, with Ryan Scribner).

Scribner also captured the Scratch 6-Game Combine (1470 in same-set Singles-Doubles), while Chirs Mattingly topped the field in Scratch Singles (765) and Handicap Doubles (1493, with Ben McCoy)

The remaining bowlers who earned city championships were Jerry Butler (Handicap Singles, 825), A.J. Berry (Handicap 9-Game All-Events, 2312), and the team named Moore Carry (Scott Bird, Jason Finley, Adam Moore, Hannah Moore and Larry Porter), who fired a three-game series of 3806.

The annual City Tournament attracted 35 teams, 94 singles and 64 doubles. The list of all prize winners can be linked on the right-hand column of this page.

posted on December 4, 2014

The 2015 Decatur Men's City Tournament, now officially titled the Decatur USBC BA Open, will start on a weeknight for the first time in its 76-year history.

The annual team, singles and doubles championship is being held at Pla-Mor Lanes and will commence on Wednesday, January 7 at 6:30pm. Competition will also take place the following Wednesday evening, as well as traditional weekend dates, which in 2015 will be January 10-11 and 17-18.

The single Saturday squad time will be 2pm on the 10th and 17th, while both Sundays will feature two squads, the first at 9am and the second at 1pm. Bowlers can bowl either Team or Doubles-Singles Events in any squad.

Bowlers can bowl on as many teams as they wish; however, two players on the roster must be swapped in order to cash multiple times. The Doubles-Singles event is a one-time-only event, and the six games must be bowled in one squad.

The handicap for this tournament will be 90% from a base average of 230. The cost for each three-game event is $25, with a $5-per-event Optional Scratch Competition also available.