By Al Pote, For October 6, 2009

Every bowler has fought the phenomenon of the "slow start" to a new season. Doug Kennedy took one week off after his lowly beginning and posted one of the biggest turnarounds in Decatur bowling history.

Kennedy, a 26-year-old left-hander, came back from a miserable opening-night set of 448 to fire his first career perfect game and best ever series on Sept. 28 in the Pla-Mor Church League.

A 169-average player last season, Kennedy decided to take a week off after establishing a 149 average on Sept. 14. His game alterations paid off the following week with games of 210, 300 and 225 for a 735 set. Kennedy also participates in the Pla-Mor Men's League.

CITY MIXED: The Decatur USBC Mixed Open Championship will be held at Spare Time on Oct. 17-18 and Oct. 24-25.

The format consists of four-person teams, two men and two ladies.

Male bowlers will earn All-City points for City Mixed Tournament participation. Interested bowlers can call 875-3141 for more information.

ALL-STARS: The Decatur Bowling Associations have named their All-City Teams for the 2008-2009 season. The ladies' teams were disclosed earlier this summer. The men's teams were released recently due to rules which require calculation of summer league scores.

The Women's Regular Top-10, in alphabetical order, are Amber Bickers, Rhonda Brummitt, Cynthia Howell, Tammy Jones, Kathy Kauzlarich, Crystal Park-Madrigal, Stacey O'Neill, Connie Sargeant, Jackie Smith and Janet Vincent.

The alphabetical top five among Senior Ladies includes Barb Abel, Linda Clary, Mary Holliday, Sue James and Betty Montgomery.

The Men's Regular Top-10, in alphabetical order, are Tom Adcock, Darrell Bean, Frank Bilyeu, James Box, Larry Larsen, Jr., Steve Napier, Mike Patterson, Jason Queen, Shawn Reed and Jay Waddell.

The alphabetical top-five for men 55-and-older is comprised of John Berry, Steve Clary, Phil Sturgeon, Gene Vincent and Rick Yetter. The Decatur USBC BA notes that male bowlers have the option to decline their earned position on the All-City Team, and some men did exercise this option for 2008-2009.

The order-of-finish and the naming of the Bowlers-of-the-Year will take place during the Decatur Bowling Hall of Fame Banquet on Oct. 24 at the Decatur Conference Center and Hotel.

During the banquet, six new members will be installed into the Hall; Jason Queen and Trinity Bush for Superior Performance, Jim Calvert and Eileen Zilz for Meritorious Service, and John Hilligoss and Alyce Belden for longtime service and performance in the Veterans' Category.

Tickets are being sold by current Hall members and by the Customer Service personnel at Pla-Mor and Spare Time Lanes. The price is $30 per person, and entertainment will be provided by Kevin Howard's "Wasted-Times DJ Service."
Make sure that your browser is Java enabled...

Final Results of the 2018-2019 Open Championships (City Tournament)

80th Annual Decatur USBC Open
Championship: Feb. 16-Mar. 10, 2019 - at Spare Time Lanes

Handicap Singles

  • Daniel Goebel - 793
  • Cory Hollis - 768
  • Michael Abel - 756

Scratch Singles

  • Phillip Barry - 747
  • Shawn Reed - 738
  • Jason Queen - 729

Handicap Doubles

  • Tom Adcock/Jason Queen - 1533
  • Garrett Strohl/Jarid Thompson - 1488
  • Bob Gray/Frank Bilyeu - 1458

Scratch Doubles

  • Tom Adcock/Jason Queen - 1533
  • Tim Frey/Phillip Barry - 1372
  • Patty Dodd/Bennie Holman - 1358

Handicap All Events

  • Cory Hollis - 2285
  • Bryson Poe - 2210
  • Jason Queen - 2168

Scratch All-Events

  • Jason Queen - 2168
  • Tim Frey - 2156
  • James Heckwine - 2113

Handicap Team

  • Nic Riley (Nic Riley, Ben McCoy, Michael Wilcox, Jon Alford, Phillip Barry) - 3634
  • Dad's Team - 3535
  • Bring Back Pla-Mor - 3406

Scratch Team

  • Nic Riley (Nic Riley, Ben McCoy, Michael Wilcox, Jon Alford, Phillip Barry) - 3567
  • Bring Back Pla-Mor - 3406
  • Balls Deep - 3187