By Al Pote: For March 30, 2010

Michigan's Chris Sand made the most of his semi-annual Decatur business trip by capturing the title in Sunday's Roto-Grip 49-and-Under Shootout at Pla-Mor Lanes.

Sand, a technician for Storm and Roto-Grip bowling products, was in the area to perform a Saturday seminar in advance of three weekend tournaments. The well-traveled southpaw, who earned $77,000 from 2001-2005 on the PBA Tour, usually stays to compete in the contests managed by Gene Vincent.

This year Sand raced to the top seed in his age group by rolling a 300 and an 835 in one three-game block, averaging 257 in his seven qualifying games.

Sand faced Decatur's Larry Larsen, Jr. in the final match, and the two lefties matched strikes and spares until the 10th frame, where Sand escaped with a 246-244 victory. Shawn Reed finished in third place, followed by James Box, Tony Mahon and Ben McCoy.

In the Roto-Grip Sweeper for seniors, Butch Woollen outlasted Steve Clary 184-176 to claim the championship. Clary fired a 279 game to upend Vincent in the stepladder semifinal, with Lonnie Klukis coming home in fourth.

Darrell Bean averaged 219 in five games to win Saturday's Plastic-Ball Challenge at Pla-Mor, edging out Box by two sticks in the total-pinfall format.

TRIPLE-PERFECTION: Andy Mank, 22, rolled three consecutive 300 games on March 18 in the Thursday Night Handicap League at Bel-Air Bowl in Belleville.

The series is currently going through the standard USBC approval process. If the score is validated, Mank will own the 16th certified 900 series worldwide, and the first in the state of Illinois.

Mank used a Storm Reign of Fire ball and strung the 36-bagger on lanes 1 and 2 of the center. A resident of Belleville, Mank now has seven career perfect games to go along with four previous 800 awards.

LOCAL PERFECTION: Four area bowlers garnered 12-baggers in the past two weeks; Tony Mahon (Pla-Mor Men, March 18), Lonnie Klukis (Spare Time Cavalier Classic, March 19), Ben McCoy (Double Trouble, March 20) and Doug Teague (ADM Mixed, March 23).

With his second-place finish on March 14 in Bloomington, Mike Patterson clinched the season's point title in the Central Illinois Classic Tournament series. Patterson was topped by former Illinois resident David Bartlett in the championship match.

ALSO: The Decatur USBC Women's Bowling Association will hold their Annual Meeting on April 11 at 1pm at Spare Time Lanes. The ladies will provide a taco bar and are inviting all current and future WBA members.

The meeting will also feature an election of officers, with voting to be held for First Vice-President, Sergeant-at-Arms, and four Directors.

Female bowlers who are interested in running for these positions must notify the WBA by April 7. In lieu of individual contacts, applicants may call Spare Time Lanes at 875-3141 or Pla-Mor Lanes at 428-2222.

Moweaqua Bowl & Cafe launched their third annual 9-Pin Tournament on March 13, and it will conclude this Saturday, April 3 at 1pm. The event is for mixed teams, with two men and two ladies per team.

The entry fee is $80 per team, and the handicap is 90% from 220. For more information, bowlers are asked to call 217-768-3896.

Make sure that your browser is Java enabled...

Final Results of the 2018-2019 Open Championships (City Tournament)

80th Annual Decatur USBC Open
Championship: Feb. 16-Mar. 10, 2019 - at Spare Time Lanes

Handicap Singles

  • Daniel Goebel - 793
  • Cory Hollis - 768
  • Michael Abel - 756

Scratch Singles

  • Phillip Barry - 747
  • Shawn Reed - 738
  • Jason Queen - 729

Handicap Doubles

  • Tom Adcock/Jason Queen - 1533
  • Garrett Strohl/Jarid Thompson - 1488
  • Bob Gray/Frank Bilyeu - 1458

Scratch Doubles

  • Tom Adcock/Jason Queen - 1533
  • Tim Frey/Phillip Barry - 1372
  • Patty Dodd/Bennie Holman - 1358

Handicap All Events

  • Cory Hollis - 2285
  • Bryson Poe - 2210
  • Jason Queen - 2168

Scratch All-Events

  • Jason Queen - 2168
  • Tim Frey - 2156
  • James Heckwine - 2113

Handicap Team

  • Nic Riley (Nic Riley, Ben McCoy, Michael Wilcox, Jon Alford, Phillip Barry) - 3634
  • Dad's Team - 3535
  • Bring Back Pla-Mor - 3406

Scratch Team

  • Nic Riley (Nic Riley, Ben McCoy, Michael Wilcox, Jon Alford, Phillip Barry) - 3567
  • Bring Back Pla-Mor - 3406
  • Balls Deep - 3187